Home Page

Welcome to William Austin Infant School

Enjoying Reading Together in our Library

Sharing Happiness and Making Friends

Inspiring Imagination through Storytelling

Discovering and Exploring in our Mud Kitchen

Keeping Fit and Healthy on the Playground

Early Years Foundation Stage

EYFS Curriculum Statement 2021-22

The Foundation Stage


At William Austin Infant School, we embrace changes that are going to have a positive impact on the children’s learning and education. The DFE have introduced a new EYFS framework, commencing September 2021. As a staff we are making ourselves familiar with the new curriculum and have already implemented the changes needed.

Children in Year R will continue to follow the curriculum based on the Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage. This allows children to work towards the 17 Early Learning Goals by the end of the academic year across the seven curriculum areas.


The curriculum for children in Year R classes is known as The Early Years Foundation Stage. This leads on to the National Curriculum that children begin in Year 1.


The curriculum is broken up into 2 main areas – Prime and Specific and then these areas are then broken up into smaller areas.


The Prime Areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


The Specific Areas are:

  • Literacy- Reading and Writing
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design


At William Austin Infants we ensure all these areas are covered and they are delivered through planned, focussed activities as well as play led by the child and play guided by the adults. The areas of learning are accessible both inside and out in the following topics:


Autumn 1- Myself & Elmer

Autumn 2- Shape & Measure

Spring 1-  People Who Help Us & Keeping Healthy

Spring 2- Environments and Bears

Summer 1- Instructions & Traditional Tales

Summer 2- Animals